BROKEN PIECES

Courtesy of  Stuart Miles, (freedigitalphotos.net)

Courtesy of Stuart Miles, (freedigitalphotos.net)

Your love makes me feel like I can climb mountains, cross any obstacle and live out my dreams. It fills my soul and chases away every fear that dares to rear its ugly head.

I felt like the most cherished person, the apple of your eye until I looked in the mirror . I couldn’t understand why or even see how you could love me. A vessel so broken into pieces and so desperate.

My soul ached all night and the doubts played in my mind. What if you couldn’t love such a mess? In despair I turned my face away and travelled with the world.

If only I could piece back the broken parts, then maybe you wouldn’t forsake me. I ran into your arms but I couldn’t stay inside your embrace. For the sound of religion scoffed at me and said that I had to be perfect.

I tried and tried but to no avail. The endless tears and my weary soul had finally worn my broken heart.
“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life” Proverbs 13:12

In your arms I’d felt safe and I had known love; never knowing the true condition of my heart. Till the mirror showed me what you loved, for you loved a wretch like me.

And now I am convinced that neither life nor death, my failures or mistakes could ever keep you away. For if you loved me at my worst, then there’s nothing I’d ever want to hide from you.

My heart and my soul belong to you. All my desires and affections I give to you. For you saw me when no one else did and you loved me even when I couldn’t understand. Every darkened corner Oh Lord, may you fill with your marvelous light and every bruised piece, may you coat with your perfect love.

Your love makes me feel like I can climb mountains, cross any obstacle and live out my dreams. It fills my soul and chases away every fear that dares to rear its ugly head.

For more, check out my book “Real With God”.

-Abby

Categories: ECLECTIC | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “BROKEN PIECES

  1. joycemuthusi

    God is ab

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.