ANGELS

While growing up, my mom told the most fascinating stories you could ever imagine. Her eyes would glow and passion would flow out of her words as she described how David destroyed the mighty Goliath with just a sling and a stone.

She would make Samson look like he’s was made out of steel as she vividly portrayed him killing thousands of skilled warriors with just his bare hands.

David was my absolute favorite though. He loved God and God made him King!!!! “Maybe if I loved God that much I could become Queen…or at least something important,” my young mind would wonder.

Then one day, my mom went up to another level with her captivating tales. She told us how “angels” existed and how God gave each one of His children their own angel!!!!

What! I wanted one. I wanted to see him and to talk to him right now! I couldn’t stop thinking about the possibility of having a winged creature guarding my every move.

I decided to tell all my friends the new found information. We had just gotten off school and were walking home before I decided to share the news. “Do you know that there are angels all around us?” I asked the little group. “Mom said they protect and watch over us every day.” I finished proudly.

The girls all looked at me as though I’d lost my mind, and then, as if on a cue, they started beating the air all around them. “Where are these angels?” they demanded . “There’s nothing here. See, see.” they twirled and kicked and slapped the air all around them to prove the point.

I gave up trying to prove to them that mom was right and they were wrong. I figured that mom was bigger and therefore smarter than all of them combined.

The bible clearly states that:

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways. (Psalm 91:11, ESV)

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. (Hebrews 13:2, ESV)

There are moments that I can honestly say that I have seen God’s angels. Sometimes they come in the form of a human but other times, they seem to just be there.

At one time, I was saved from a car that almost killed me as I was walking home from school. I grew up in Kenya and most students would walk home from school. The path had gotten narrower and a lot of people were squeezing on that path. As a result, I was on the outer side, close to the road. A car zoomed past by me and I honestly knew in my heart that I was supposed to have died. I had a knowing in my heart that God’s angel had protected me and saved me from death.

There are countless of other moments that I knew that God’s supernatural power had intervened in my life. Every moment of our life is precious to God and He really does protect his own. Be encouraged and rest in your father’s love.

Check out my new book “Real With God”.

-Abby

Categories: SUPERNATURAL, UPLIFTING WORD | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.